York Urbanist

7 DUNLAP OBSERVATORY – Iconic Buildings

December 14th, 2011

The David Dunlap Observatory opened in 1935, a gift to the University of Toronto by Jessie Donalda Dunlap as a memorial to her husband David Alexander Dunlap. The owners of the property have always made it clear that they consider the Observatory and the Administration building to be historic structures that will be preserved. The property is now owned by the Metrus Group, the function of the observatory long compromised by surrounding development.  For many years, the Town of Richmond Hill has had requirements to control ‘dark skies’ in the vicinity of the observatory.  Alas, the light streams have been difficult to control.  The building and lands remain iconic of what has been Richmond Hill.  Its longevity is testament to the sustainability of its architecture, maintenance and the importance of its history to the Town of Richmond Hill.

Iconic Rating – 9 out of 10

Desirability – 8 out of 10

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply